ROW80 – R2C9

Posted: June 3, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

Hey, everyone! I’m in a bit of a rush this morning, so I’m just going to jump right in:

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 3/5 (You’ll notice I’m not going to be using “incomplete” and “done” anymore – it was making me too sad!) I think Thursdays are the bane of my existence. When they roll around, I get lazy and restless and the last thing I want to do is exercise.
  2. Each Sunday, visit Writer’s Market for at least half an hour. 1/1 I didn’t actually visit Writer’s Market specifically, but I looked at some contests and magazines that I could publish in, which is all I’d be doing on WM anyway. I found some really great ones that are right up my alley!
  3. Write every day. 4/7 Thursday and Friday I ducked out, but I’ve been having some trouble lately. Not writer’s block, but just not liking anything that I’ve been writing recently. The ideas are all in my head, but they’re just not translating well to paper. I’ve been writing an outline and background information in a notebook, so that’s been helping a lot. I’m hoping this week it gets a little easier.
  4. Read every day. 4/7 This is moving slower than I want it to, but it’s moving at least…
  5. Finish writing “Found” and then decide which stories definitely make the cut. 1/1 I did this a week ago, and it felt so good to get one of my major goals out of the way! My new goal is finish writing “Death” and come up with one more story to round out the collection of horror short stories.

Here are some other fun things going on right now:

  1. I got an iPhone, which means that I can be a lot more active online now. It really helps me to stay on top of e-mails, twitter interactions, and all my blogs. I love it!
  2. I’m seeing these guys this Thursday and I absolutely can’t wait. I keep watching this video over and over again because it makes me laugh each time:
  3. I’m staying on top of my new blog schedule, which is making life easier. I even wrote ALL of my blog posts ahead of time. They were all scheduled by Monday, which made the rest of the week much more maneagable! I’m hoping to do that again this week.
  4. This is what I had for lunch yesterday (crab, flounder, shrimp, sushi, more shrimp, squid, and octopus):

    Seafood Delight

    Octopus!

Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    Progress, darling, I see progress 😉
    Yay for iPhone (love mine), and what a yummy lunch!
    Have a great week, Karen!

  2. S. J. Maylee says:

    an iPhone, nice. I have not gotten one yet. Hubs and I were just talking about how our cheaper cell bills are soon going to be a thing of the past, lol. I see progress too. You’re moving forward.

    • Karen Rought says:

      I highly recommend it, or at least a smartphone of some sort. Although I hate being “plugged in” all the time, I can’t deny that it streamlines my life for me. Definitely a time saver!

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I love my smartphone! I do have to remember to put it away when I go on dates with the hubby. 😉

    I have tried a lot of different foods, but never octopus. How was it?

    Good job with your goals. Keep going, Karen! You’re knocking ’em out.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Yeah, I have to remind myself that I don’t have to check it every few minutes!

      It was really good! Not really chewy, but a little tougher than shrimp. Ours was a bit spicy, which I enjoyed. The suction cups give it a little bit of a different texture, but not uncomfortably so. Eating oysters is (in my opinion) much, MUCH worse.

  4. Kim Switzer says:

    Great progress! Congratulations on finishing “Found.” Way to go!

Tell me what you think!

