ROW80 – R2C7

Posted: May 20, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

This was a great week – much better than the last few that I’ve had to suffer through. Let’s get right into it:

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. Done! I ran on the treadmill for four of the days. Then on Friday I ran around with a 10 week old puppy. I’m not really counting that toward my goal, but it definitely got my heart pumping (he is fast!!). But yesterday, I walked around in the woods looking for mushrooms (more on that later this week), and that was DEFINITELY a workout.
  2. Each Sunday, visit Writer’s Market for at least half an hour. Incomplete. This is the first time in a few weeks that I haven’t gotten this done. And I’m not sure I’m going to get around to it today either. I feel more motivated to write lately, and that’s what I want to concentrate on. I just don’t need the added stress of WM right now.
  3. Write every day. Done. The first few days were a little spotty. I only wrote about a paragraph or two in the beginning of the week. But by the time I hit Wednesday or Thursday, I started in on a new story. It’s not something I really wanted to do (as in have another project to concentrate on), but this story has been “speaking” to me for quite awhile. When I can’t get something out of my head, I take that as a sign. The other stories aren’t moving along very well at the moment, so I decided to concentrate on this new one to see if it helps pick up the pace on the other ones too. Writing is writing!
  4. Read every day. Done. I’m not reading as much as I want to (about a page a day, which is horrible), but I’m making other things a priority. I’m hoping to concentrate on this goal a little bit more in this coming week.
  5. Finish writing “Found” and then decide which stories DEFINITELY make the cut. Incomplete. I wrote a little bit more in this story, but it’s far from done. I also didn’t even think about which stories I definitely want in my collection (though I have a pretty solid mental list). I’ll do it this week.

How are you guys doing? Tell me one fabulous thing that happened to you this week – big or small! (Mine is that this is my 100th post!!)

Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    Looking for mushroom? Hmm, I want to know the story behind that 😉
    To me, you’re doing great! Nice job all around!
    One fabulous thing? That I got excited about a novelette and now I just need one more scene to finish it? Or that it was my daughter’s 5th birthday and we had fun? Not sure if those count …
    Congrats on the 100th post!
    Have a great week!

    • Karen Rought says:

      And you will! I’m really excited to write the post on that.

      Those are both GREAT things. Good luck finishing your novelette and congratulations to having 5 beautiful years with your daughter. 🙂

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Yeah for feeling motivated to write and actually doing it! This is what it’s all about 🙂 And congratulations on your 100th post… One fabulous thing that happened to me this week: I took part in a read-a-thon and still managed to write. Have a great writing week!

  3. alberta says:

    mushrooms oh yes must read about hat:) no great fabs this week just lots of little satisfactions – I suppose the best was how well the writers group I oversee was this week – new members but all gelling well and such an interesting array of writing.

    all the best for coming week

  4. S. J. Maylee says:

    100th post, congratulations *throwsconfetti* 🙂
    I’m looking forward to the mushroom post for sure
    You’re listening to your muse and moving forward = great week, gotta love that
    The fabulous thing for me this week was making my friend Lani smile when I RAOKed her on Monday, good stuff!

  5. Jody Moller says:

    Sounds like you have a pretty awesome week. Best thing for me was finally finishing the silly xbox game I had become obsessed with so now I can get back to writing. I have to ask – what is the Writer’s Market. Also congrats on your 100th post.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Awesome!! I think I’ve only ever finished one video game in my life, so I see that as quite an accomplishment! Writer’s Market is a website where you can find information about editors, agents, publishers, contests, etc. You have to pay for it, but it’s definitely worth it if you’re at that stage in your writing. There is SO much information there that I find it a little overwhelming, but it’s really worth having.

  6. Stacy Green says:

    Great job, Karen! Jealous of the exercise. I did walk almost every day, but nothing too strenuous. And having a 10 week old puppy is no different from a little one, lol. Good luck!

  7. Julie Glover says:

    Looks like a mixed week in terms of your goals, but knocking out the exercise and the writing sounds awesome! As for my “one thing,” I’ll go with finishing the first draft of my young adult novel. Have a marvelous week!

  8. Karen Rought says:

    As far as those goals go, in my mind they’re the most important – so I don’t mind if they’re pretty much the only ones I got done! That’s a FABULOUS thing to have completed. Yaayyy!

  9. Ahh, the delicious beauty of starting a new story… 🙂

    Sounds like you’re making good progress!

  10. Putting exercise as your #1 goal…Kudos! Completing that goal…double kudos.
    All the best with this and your other goals.
    Until next time…

Tell me what you think!

