ROW80 – R2C4

Posted: April 29, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , ,

Can you believe it’s almost MAY!? I mean, where did the time go? We’re getting close to being halfway through the year. It just blows my mind.

Here’s my updates:

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. Complete. Whoo hoo! For this one, I left myself no leniency. I’m not doing too great in the losing weight department, but I’ve been exercising consistently and that’s more important to me. I also came up with a new game plan. I’m actually running on the treadmill now and listening to podcasts that I’m behind on (multi-tasking!). I can’t run the entire time, but I’m working up to it. On Monday, I could barely make it through about 7 ½ minutes of running. Come Friday, I ran for 15 out of the 30 minutes, no problem. Now that’s progress!
  2. Each Sunday, visit Writer’s Market for at least half an hour. Complete. *happy dance* I’ve been doing really well with this goal in the last few weeks. I finally got through all of my e-mails that were stacked up from this place and now I’m ready to take some time to explore the site. I even entered a contest – my first one ever! I’m not getting my hopes up (it’s open to the entire WORLD), but I’m optimistic. I have to wait until October to find out the results, so I’m just going to put that in the back of my mind for now.
  3. Write every day. Incomplete. I just missed a single day here, so I’m not too upset over it. A lot of my “writing” went into editing the two stories I wanted to submit for the contest. I don’t think I actually wrote anything new this time around, but that’ll change for this coming week.
  4. Read every day. Incomplete. I finished Oppression by Jessica Therrien (and I’m thinking about reviewing it for you guys…) and it was really good! I had a hard time deciding what to pick up next (so many choices!) so I didn’t get around to reading much. I’ve finally figured it out, so I’ll go back to my regularly scheduled program this week.
  5. Finish my Cinderella story. Incomplete. Didn’t even touch it, but I’ll definitely get to it this week.

I’m pretty proud of this week, even though over half of my goals are incomplete. The first two are the most important to me, and those are the ones that I knocked out of the park. Next week will be a bit less hectic, I think, so it should be easier to follow up on the other ones.

Here’s some exciting new things going on right now:

A. America’s Best Dance Crew (ABDC) is back on air for their 7th season. I love this show so much, even though the quality has definitely been going down the last few years. This year actually seems more promising, though, so I’m really excited. If you’re at all interested, you can watch the shows online here. Three episodes have aired so far, and all three are available (unless you live outside the U.S. – sorry foreign friends. 😦 )

B. Hypable got an exclusive interview with Raphael Sbarge – the guy who plays Dr. Archie Hopper/Jiminy Cricket on Once Upon a Time. If you’re a fan of the show, please show your support and check it out! The more popular these exclusive interviews get, the more Hypable will get to do them.

C. I’ve also been watching a lot of TV lately – Netflix has some great shows on streaming. I’m about halfway through the third season of Psych, I just watched the first episode of Firefly, I finished the first episode of Battlestar Galactica last night, and I watched two episodes of The Vampire Diaries. What are your thoughts on these shows? Are there any others on Netflix Streaming that I should add to my instant queue? I’m open to all sorts of suggestions (and chances are I might already have them lined up – there are so many good ones!).

Comments
  1. You definitely made progress, kudos. Wishing you a fabulous upcoming week 🙂

  2. S. J. Maylee says:

    Progress, got to love it!! Great job on the running by the way. I’ve been slowly making my way through the couch to 5k program and I’m envious of how long you are able to run, keep it up

    • Karen Rought says:

      I’m really surprised myself! I can’t run for 15 straight minutes, but I do it in chunks of 5 and then walks for 5 minutes. That helps a lot. Still, I was shocked at what a difference one week made in regards to my stamina. Good luck with your exercise goals!!

      • S. J. Maylee says:

        Thanks! I’ve been working the healthy journey pretty hard since last July. Just started to add running into my routine. Fun to try something new, especially one where your improvement is so obvious.

  3. Juliana Haygert says:

    I see lots of progress! Nice work.
    I love Vampire Dairies and Nikita (the new one) … and I like Secret Circle … I’m also a fan of Game of Thrones, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Legend of Korra, and I can’t wait for the second season of Falling Skies …
    TV series that I liked that didn’t live past the first season: Firefly (no argument here lol), Ordinary Family and The Nine Lives of Chloe King (though this last one was a little on the low side of YA).
    And congrats on the workout! I should be ashamed of myself and start exercising right now lol
    Have a great week!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Haha, Juliana, you’ll get there! You have to let your life settle down a little first! Nikita looked interesting to me, I think I’ll add it to my list. Thanks. 🙂

  4. Julie Glover says:

    Fabulous week! I need that inspiration from you to exercise. I’m behind on that goal for myself! Best wishes with the writing contest.

    I love Psych. It’s one of my favorite shows. They have had some incredibly clever episodes. And Firefly is just good fun. I adore Adam Baldwin on that show. Of course, I liked him in Chuck too.

    I’m a Netflix watcher myself. I recently started watching Better Off Ted. Funny so far.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Good luck, Julie. It’s so hard to get yourself going, but I find I’m looking forward to it if that means that I can listen to my podcasts at the same time (I just love them so much!).

      Isn’t Psych AMAZING? I’m constantly surprised by how witty it is. And the chemistry between Dule and James is just off the charts. I’ve never seen Chuck, but I heard it was a great show.

Tell me what you think!

