Wandering Bard: Greece (The Acropolis)

Posted: April 25, 2012 in Wandering Bard
Tags: , , , ,

I need a vacation. Like, right now. Let’s go to Greece, shall we?

The view from the Acropolis. That's pure history spread out beneath you.

I’ve been obsessed with the Greeks ever since I can remember. The mythology is what really got me started – all those stories passed down from generation to generation about gods and goddesses? How could I not fall in love with that? And then I discovered this wonderful thing called art that brought these stories alive. I was hooked!

Enter the Parthenon.

Too bad there's all that construction going on around it. Funny story: we almost didn't make it here, as Putin had it shut down the day after so he could visit it uninterrupted. Close call!

My favorite goddess is Athena, though I’ll admit that there are a few that come in a very close second (like Artemis). It seems logical enough, then, that one of the places I just HAD to see while I was in Greece was the most famous temple dedicated to her. And isn’t it beautiful?

And, luckily enough, one of my all-time favorite groups of statues is near by: the Caryatids.

These are simple columns sculpted in the shape of women. They help to hold up the porch of the Erechtheion temple (though the term can be applied to more than just this group alone). The ones pictured above are the ones that are on display, but they’re not actually the real statues. Those are safely stored in the Acropolis museum (which is fabulous, by the way).

As I was flipping through my FB pictures to find ones suited for this post, I came across this and a caption from my best friend that simply read, "How can they smell if they have no noses?" Doing these posts brings back SUCH good memories.

There’s just something about this place that speaks to me. The naturalism of the statues, the ancient feel of the buildings. The Greeks were fascinating people and they put everything they had into their way of life – everything was extraordinary, from their political views to their religious beliefs to their artistic endeavors and beyond. It’s no wonder that so much has lasted through the generations to allow us to appreciate it all to this day.

Have you ever been to Greece? If you ever got a chance to go, what would you most like to see? And, more importantly, who is your favorite god or goddess?

Comments
  1. Ancient Greece was just fascinating. For me it’s hard to say which is my favourite of their gods – they were all so full of character and a reflection of all that the Greeks themselves saw as the strengths, weaknesses, foibles, triumphs and failings of humanity. Great post – thanks for sharing.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Wasn’t it? I also loved how the Greeks saw themselves in their gods. There’s just something incredibly intriguing about the things the gods got up to. I love the lessons that are buried amongst all that ridiculousness. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Greece is one of the places I haven’t been but definitely want to go to. My husband and I have a whole list of “want to visit before we die” countries 🙂

    • Karen Rought says:

      Oh, man! I highly recommend it. We went from Italy, hopped a boat, and got to Greece, and the difference between the countries was practically tangible. Greece, to me at least, felt a lot more relaxed and friendly. That’s not to say that Italy wasn’t friendly, but Greece has a slower, less rushed, more “country” feel to it. I definitely enjoyed it after the rush of Rome.

  3. Debra Kristi says:

    Okay, SO jealous. I really want to go to Greece. Your pictures are wonderful. It is definitely on my bucket list. Along with Ireland – another place you’ve been. 😛 You need to take me with you! Just kidding – sort of.

  4. […] Visiting The Acropolis in Greece ~ Karen Rought: The Midnight Novelist […]

  5. […] time we were in Greece, we hit up the Acropolis. This time we’re at the Delphic ruins – my second favorite place after […]

Tell me what you think!

