ROW80 – R2C3

Posted: April 22, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , ,

This week was nuts!!  Between just being super busy and trying to get ready for a weekend away, I didn’t have a whole lot of time to get things done. Hence getting this up a lot later than usual. But here’s what I managed to accomplish:

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. Incomplete. I did it Monday and Tuesday and didn’t find a second of time after that to do anything else. I’m going on a beach vacation in exactly two months, so there’s my motivation to make sure I get going on this goal from now till then.
  2. Each Sunday, visit Writer’s Market for at least half an hour. Complete. Whoo hoo! That’s two weeks in a row that I’ve gotten this done. And I’m definitely going to sit down tonight and go through some more e-mails. I really like some of the contests I’m finding. I’ve never entered a writing contest before, so this is something I’m really looking forward to.
  3. Write every day. Incomplete.  I fell waaay off the bandwagon with this one, but I just didn’t have time to do it this week. The good news is that on the trip down and back I had two hours to work on my writing. I ended up reading a few of my stories out loud to my BFF, which allowed me to fix up some minor mistakes. It really helped though, and I’ve decided which ones I want to enter in the contest! She had already read these before, so I also read her a new story and part of the one that I’m writing specifically for her. And she liked them!
  4. Read every day. Incomplete. GUESS WHAT GUYS!? I finished Tiger’s Voyage finally, and I’ve started on a new book. Whoo hoo! It’s really good so far and she’s a new author, so I might end up doing a review of it. I only missed one day this week and that was because I just had zero time. Not bad at all, in my book.
  5. Finish my Cinderella story. Incomplete. I didn’t get a chance to work on this at all this week, but I’m hoping this coming week will give me enough time to finish it up. I’m going to be putting the final touches on the stories I want to enter into the contests, though, so that will be my main focus. As long as I stay organized, I think I’ll be able to finish this one up pretty well.

So, not a wonderful week because life definitely got in the way, but I didn’t mind so much. I feel like I know what I want to accomplish for this following week, and that’s the important thing. That and I got to see one of my other best friends for the first time since last year!

Oh, and this past week I also got VIP tickets to see Starkid on their Apocalyptour. I AM SO EXCITED. I have to travel to Maryland (five hours away), but it is TOTALLY worth it. Here’s the promo video for the tour. If you’ve never heard of Starkid before, make sure you look up some of their videos!


 
Have a happy ROW. 🙂

Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    Oh, I know all about life getting in the way. Even so, I think you did very well 😉
    And, omg, congrats on those tickets! Woot!
    Have a great week, Karen!

  2. BelleofMountains says:

    Even though you’re busy sounds like you’re still progressing on your goals – keep up the hard work! 😀 Just a thought, have you ever carried a notebook around with you that you can write into if you have 5-10 mins of free time? I do that throughout the day; helps me squeeze a little writing in here and there.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks! I actually carry my iTouch with me everywhere and there is a notebook app on there. It has definitely saved my life more than once. I like outlining whole chapters while I’m away from the computer, then going home and writing it up based on my notes. It’s helped me speed through entire sections of a book that way.

  3. S. J. Maylee says:

    Life got in the way, as it tends to do, and you still moved forward. You took advantage of the travel time by reading your stories out loud, brilliant!! I agree, you did really well.

  4. Julie Glover says:

    Even your incompletes were still good progress! Life does intrude sometimes. Your week looked good to me! Hope you get even more done this week, though.

    And yes, those thoughts of beach time are exercise motivators!

  5. EM Castellan says:

    I had the same “life got in the way of my writing” week, but it looks like you did make some progress anyway, good for you! I’ll have to check the Writer’s Market that you keep mentioning in your goals, it seems like a good tool. Have a good writing week!

Tell me what you think!

