ROW80 – Round 2 (FIGHT!)

Posted: April 1, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

Okay, so Round 2 of ROW80 is starting on April 2nd, and I’m here to lay down my goals for the next few months. I did pretty well last time (link), so I’m all ready to go for this round!

(P.S. If you have no idea what ROW80 is, click here. If you’re a writer, just be aware that this is one of the best ways to help yourself and stay on track with your writing goals. You can join anytime and it’s super easy!)

My goals:

  1. Exercise for half an hour a day, five days a week. This is going at the top of the list in the hopes that it gives me more incentive to make sure it gets done. During the last round I tried exercising every day, but found that it really wore me down. I like having the weekends off (something to look forward to), so I’m sticking with five days a week.
  2. Each Sunday, visit Writer’s Market for at least half an hour each day. This goal did not work out well last time, so I’m giving myself a specific day to complete it, hoping that it makes it easier to follow. I really love this site, but I’ve developed some sort of apprehension for going onto it. I really need to just get over that and start using it. It really is an invaluable resource!
  3. Write every day. It doesn’t matter if it’s on my novels, short stories, or blog posts. Editing can also fall into this category. As long as I’m working on something each day, I’ll count it as completed.
  4. Read every day. This will be easier once I force myself through the ending of the book I’m currently not looking forward to reading. Near the end of the last round I fell back on “blogs count as reading,” and although I still believe that, I want to be more specific. My To-Be-Read list is the size of Everest and I really want to start the climb to the top. I can only do that if I force myself to actually read from a physical book each and every day.
  5. Plot L2. I’ve finished editing L1 and it’s off to its first Beta Reader. While awaiting feedback, I want to work on its sequel. I have some major plotting to do and I want to be prepared before I just jump in and start writing it.

Those are my goals – for now. The first four are stationary, mandatory. They won’t be changing, although I will allow myself to tweak them if necessary. The last one will change as I complete the various goals. This is the wild card, the project that I currently want to work on. As I check each one off the list, a new one will replace it.

So, there you have it! The main lesson I learned from the last round was to not run myself down. It just wears you out, and you end up not completing your goals. I think this is a healthy list – definitely enough to keep me busy (like I have trouble with that anyway, ha!) but just enough that I still get some time to myself.

Who of you are joining ROW80 this round? Any newcomers? If you’ve got any questions, feel free to post them in the comments below!

Comments
  1. BelleofMountains says:

    Great goals! This should be a good round. I’ll be putting up my goals post today. 🙂

  2. Great list of goals Karen. Wishing you all the best with them! Here’s to a fab round 2 🙂

  3. Debra Kristi says:

    Fabulous list! I really love the way it reads. You put a lot of thought into it. I wrote mine while falling asleep. Literally! I kept waking up with my hands on the computer keys, blog post in front of me. LOL I finally just did bullet point and said, “the hell with it!” Hehehe

  4. Juliana Haygert says:

    I don’t remember being on Writer’s market before … perhaps I need to check it out since you like it so much 😉
    I like your list. Like you said, simple but enough to keep you busy lol Oh, I know all about being busy.
    Good luck, Karen! I’ll see you around the ROW!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Writer’s Market has some of the best books out there for writers who are trying to get published. Their website is FULL of information about agents, publishers, contests, markets, etc. I know I’ve only scratched the surface, and I’m already impressed with them. I think you’ll find it a useful tool!

  5. I’ll check out writers market – never heard of it. Great goals – Best of luck for the week ahead X

Tell me what you think!

