ROW80 – R1C11

Posted: March 11, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hey, everyone! I’m feeling preeeeety awesome today. Check it out:

  1. Go to Writer’s Market at least three times a week. Incomplete. Most of the time I forget about this goal. Then when I do remember, I’m really not in the mood to do it. I feel guilty because I’m paying for the service and I really, really want to use it. I’m going to try to set aside some time today and look at more of the e-mails they’ve been sending me.
  2. Write at least four days a week. Done! I wrote SIX days this week. Well, technically I edited most of those days but it still falls underneath this category. I’m actually breaking this one down into writing for my short stories, writing background info for D1, and editing L1. I wrote 464 words this week on one of my short stories and then was completely involved in editing L1. I took the advice you guys gave me last time (thank you SO much, by the way) and gave up on the other project (for now). And how is editing L1 going, you may ask? Excellent! It’s so weird to be completely wrapped up in my own story. That hasn’t happened for a very long time in D1. I’m pretty particular when I edit, but I was finding that my first eight chapters are pretty good for having written them over the course of about a week. The book definitely still needs work, but I have high hopes for this project. My word count jumped just a little bit to 40,605 since January 1st.
  3. Exercise five days a week. Done! Wait, did you see that? Yep, that said DONE! Whoo hoo! I buckled down and concentrated on this particular goal this week. It really wasn’t bad and it felt really good to get back into it again. I also just bought a new DDR game, so I’m hoping that sort of wipes out the boredom factor. (Plus, it’s got a Spice Girls song on it, so you KNOW I’m going to be playing that one a lot!)
  4. Read every day. Done! Still working on Tiger’s Voyage. This book has so much potential, yet the author tends to drag things out and flip flop with emotions so much that it’s very wearing. I can’t wait to finish it just so I can move onto my next book. I hope the fourth one in the series (coming out  in September) is much better.
  5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates. Done! This is really becoming habit now, and I usually don’t have any trouble coming up with material to work with and staying on my MWF schedule. My only problem is having trouble switching up topics enough. Can’t wait for Monday’s post. It’s going to be fun. 🙂

There you have it! A pretty good week, if I so say so myself. I’m off to edit some more – I’m so excited! Isn’t that weird? Such a great feeling though.

Hope you’re all doing well this week, too!

(Oh, and that good news I was talking about last week? Well, I got one e-mail telling me I was being considered for this…thing. ( 😉 ) I think tomorrow I’ll find out if I got it or not. I’ll let you know!)

Comments
  1. I assume you go to Writer’s Market to research markets, no? I found that to be an easier job to do once a week or so — just settle down like I was at the library, and play around with different search terms and see what I found. I generally set a goal not of time, but of finding a market for a specific story or finding a specific number of markets of a certain kind.

    Heck, even finding one new market a week is a nice goal.

    A part of my routine, though, would be to look at and book mark the websites of the markets I found. (Sometimes they were not listed, but I could find them via Google.)

    • Karen Rought says:

      I tend to get overwhelmed very easily, so I’m trying to break it up into a couple of smaller chunks of time each week instead of just one. It works out pretty well when I actually get around to doing it! I’m definitely trying to bookmark the ones I like, too. I love that WM has that feature to save your searches and categorize your different finds. Very useful.

  2. Awesome job on the writing and the exercising. Good job! Here’s to another wonderfully productive week. 🙂

  3. I am so excited after reading this Karen. You had an awesome week! And you exercised five days this week. I am taken back. I didn’t exercise once, well except yesterday I did get a short walk in. Truly you had a great week and I am so happy for you! Keep it up girl. You inspired me today! Thanks! 🙂

  4. Karen Rought says:

    Those are my favorite words to hear – thank you!! Hey, you exercised once, and that’s good, too! I hope you have an awesome day to day, and an even better week!

  5. Ali Dent says:

    Wow! You’re smoking on the goals. Great work and thanks for sharing with your Rowing friends.

  6. WOWZER! Fantastic week Karen – your rocked it. Writing, working out, blogging – you managed to balance it all and EXCEED your goals. Love that.
    Here’s to another bang up week ahead – waving my hot pink pompoms wildly!!!

  7. Stacy Green says:

    Great job, Karen! You did had an amazing week. Very cool you managed to juggle everything. I need to take some tips from you, lol.

  8. Awesome week, Karen!
    Oh, I’m dying to know what “this thing” is lol My finger are crossed for you 😉
    Have a great week!

Tell me what you think!

