ROW80 – R1C10

Posted: March 4, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hey, everyone! Hope you’re all having a fabulous Sunday. I’ve got some cool updates at the bottom of this post (and another question), but I’ll get into the main stuff now:

  1. Go to Writer’s Market.com at least three times a week. Incomplete. I did this last Sunday and then didn’t touch it again. I plan on doing some more today and hoping that next week turns out better for this particular goal.
  2. Write at least four days a week. Incomplete. I was having such a terrible time trying to write this week (more about that down at the bottom). I did end up doing quite a bit yesterday, though. I wrote a piece of flash fiction that was about 600 words long. You can check it out here. I also added another 900 words to one of my short stories and got through another major scene. I have one scene left and then that one will be done! I should be able to get to that today. I wrote a total of 1,504 words this week, which brings up my word count from January 1st to 40,141.
  3. Exercise five days a week. Incomplete. I literally exercised once this week and only for 15 minutes. I know I should feel guilty, but…I don’t. Well, I do a little bit. But next week is a new week and I’ve already promised myself that I would do better.
  4. Read every day. Done. Easy peasy, like usual. I’m still reading Tiger’s Voyage and it’s driving me up a wall right now. I’m just really over love triangles and sacrificing your relationship because you don’t think it’s good for the other person (when, in reality, it’s completely fine). But, I think by the end of this book we’ll have a solid resolution that will – hopefully – carry throughout the remaining two books, and we won’t have any more drama.
  5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates. Done! I even blogged four times already, which is pretty incredible. I’m also having a much easier time coming up with ideas and actually writing up the rough drafts for the posts. That’s called being prepared! For a life-long procrastinator, I’d say it’s a miracle.

If you missed my question from last week, please check it out. I’d still like to know your opinion if you haven’t given me one yet.

I also have a new page on my blog that you can check out here. It details the various projects I’m working on and just sort of keeps you up to date with my progress, in case you’re interested. 😉

Also, I may have some super awesome news to share come March 12th, but I’m not saying anything right now because I don’t want to get my hopes up! You’ll all just have to suffer with curiosity until then. (And NO, it’s not a book deal, LOL)

My new question is this: How do you know when to give up on a project?

My first ever completed novel is codename D1. I love this novel because I worked so hard on it and it means a lot to me, especially since it’s the first major story I ever finished. However, as I’m working on D2, I’m beginning to see giant holes in D1 that need to be fixed. I mean, gaping-swirling-vortexes-of-doom holes. It’s not that I never want to come back to this project, but I’m also itching to edit my second completed novel (L1). But then I just feel like maybe this is me being afraid of succeeding and not wanting to get to the point where I’m actually sending out queries and asking agents to read my work. I know that’s a question I need to answer myself, but I’d like any opinion you guys can offer.

This is why I’ve been having trouble writing lately. I’m sort of caught between, “Should I just buckle down and re-edit the book, since it’s mostly done anyway?” and “Should I edit L1 and try to get that [less complex, possibly more relatable] book out into the world?”

Thoughts?

Comments
  1. Marcia says:

    Hi Karen! On your novels, the first may be tedious to revise and that may be the reason you’re putting it off, especially if the second is going better. Do what’s nagging at you (in a good way) first and then go back to the other project. If it were me (and I am there myself), I would just get one of them out on the market asap.
    Sorry you had a tough week, but you did make some progress! Next week will be better!

  2. I would work on the project that is calling to you. You’ll do best on the one you’re excited about. You can always go back to the other.

    As to your question…I’ve never given up on a writing project. There have been times I wasn’t loving a project, but when I pushed on, I started loving it again. I wish I was so stubborn about exercise!

  3. Ali Dent says:

    A more experienced writer than I said that it’s important to get the first novel finished and start the second because the second will reveal to you how much you learned in the first. It makes sense that you see gaping holes in D1. I think it’s a good sign.

    I’m curious what you look for at Writer’s Market.com. I’m a newbie and learning as I go:)

    • Karen Rought says:

      Somehow you ended up in my spam folder. 😦

      That’s exactly what I’m learning right now – and probably the reason why I’m enjoying this other one so much more than the first.

      I’m a newbie, too! I’m just trying to make my way through the e-mails right now, but I’m also trying to keep an eye on contests that might interest me and magazines that I might try to submit articles for. I’ve never done either thing, so I really just want to scope the playing field and try my hand at a few different things.

      If you ever want to compare notes about Writer’s Market (or anything, really), hit me up on Twitter. I’m always ready for exchanging some good info!

  4. Karen, I can’t force myself to work on something I’m totally not jazzed about. When I find myself frustrated on a project, I give it a little time, work on something else, and then go back to it. Usually that break gives me some fresh perspective and I’m excited all over again. 🙂 Best of luck to you this week…it WILL be better!

  5. Ha! I have a ‘D1’ lurking somewhere. Actually, I still love the story and, as I have ideas for two others to make it a trilogy, I will get back to it at some point. If you aren’t on a deadline or under contract, work on whatever piece is talking to you. All the best for the upcoming week Karen.

    • Karen Rought says:

      I’m in exactly the same boat, Raelyn! It’s a trilogy, so I definitely don’t want to toss it. I’m glad everyone agrees to work on what I’m excited about – makes me feel less guilty! 😀

  6. Heather_Ponzer says:

    I say work on what you’re excited about, but be sure to set boundaries on that. I’m trying to reform my inner five year-old that would start coloring a page then get to a hard part or mess up and flip over to the next picture. All my coloring books were full of half-colored pictures. I’m new at writing, but I want to be a finisher. I could see myself with a hard-drive full of half-novels in no time. 😦

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s my biggest fear, Heather! But I think I’m working out a schedule to be able to edit what I’m really excited about, while still working out the kinks of the other one. That way all the hard work doesn’t go to waste, but I can still focus on what I want to focus on.

  7. I never give up on a project. I may put one aside for a few days, (weeks, months, or years) but I always come back to it with fresh ideas and enthusiasm.

  8. BANG up week Karen!
    LOL – love how you only feel “a little” guilty about not exercising. I struggle with guilt but deep down know it’s a useless and futile emotion. There’s always next week and THAT’s what’s important!
    So here’s to kickin’ it this coming week…again! Rock on!

  9. Kate C. says:

    Having finished a couple books, and abandoned FAR too many, the answer for me is… abandon it when you know it’s complete crap. hahaha Seriously, though. When it’s basically fanfic or uses MANY elements from some author’s imagination or style, it’s not worth keeping. Only when it is yours and yours alone is it worth the work.

    And if it IS yours and yours alone, then NEVER abandon it. If you just can’t finish it now, put it aside for 5 years and come back to it. I’ve done that with a couple of stories and one of them I did finish, so it can be done, if you have a different perspective.

  10. Congrats on your victories and kudos on your honesty about the incomplete goals. (I can relate.)

    I attended a birth last week and everything else seemed anticlimactic…until I found out a poem I’d written had been read at a funeral. How humbling!

    My vote…Divide your writing time between something new and editing.

    It’s bright and sunny here, so I’m pumped to accomplish lots in the week ahead. Hope you do too.

    TTFN

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Steph. I think you’re right – it sounds like the appropriate way to go about it. Glad you have the sun (I guess we did too, but the 30 degree weather ruins it for me). Here’s to a much better week!

  11. Julie Glover says:

    Don’t work on something out of obligation (unless there’s an external expectation and deadline); work on what’s tugging at your heart and hemline. I shelved a middle grade novel for a while when I discovered plot holes and when I finally returned to it, I had a fresh perspective and actually enjoyed editing the WIP.

    Good job overall with ROW80. 15 minutes of exercise actually sounds good to me. I’m getting back on the horse myself and only expect to exercise 15 minutes, 3/week. Have a fabulous week!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Julie!! It seems like it’s the consensus to go with what I really want to do right now and it feels great to not feel guilty about it. Hope we both have better luck with the exercise this week!

Tell me what you think!

