ROW80 – R1C9

Posted: February 26, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , , ,

You guys will be happy to hear that this week turned out much, much better than last week. The new goals I set up are doing their job: making me get stuff done without stressing me out (too much).  Let’s see what I accomplished this week, then I have a question for you all. So, make sure you check that out at the very bottom.

  1. Go on WritersMarket.com at least three times a week. Incomplete. I did this only once this week. Between forgetting about it and feeling anxious every time I thought about doing it, I put it off each day until I got to it on Friday. I made my way through some of their introductory e-mails and started familiarizing myself with the site. It was actually pretty fun, and I hope to do some more today. I’ve long since stopped trying to figure out why certain things trigger my anxiety. Now, I just try to work past it. This site seems fun and is just teeming with great information, so I hope I’ll be able to dive right into the middle of it soon.
  2. Write at least four days a week. Done. I had a little trouble conjuring the muse this week, but I tried to really push past that and write anyway. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t. I definitely need to look into the backgrounds of some of my new characters and figure out their dynamics with the each other. Once I get that written out, I think the story will begin to unfold. (On a side note, my first complete novel will be code-named D1. The second one, which I’m working on right now, will be D2. The *other* completed novel will be L1. That way you guys have a better idea of what the heck I’m referencing when I’m talking about them.) I’ve also started a new short story series about the Greek gods. I’ve had this one planned for a while, but recently I’ve been surrounded by other people’s stories about them and it’s done wonders for my inspiration. I’ve written 2,470 words for my novel this week, plus 763 for my short story. That’s a total of 3,233 for the week, and 38,637 since the beginning of the year.
  3. Exercise five days a week. Incomplete. I managed to exercise twice this week, which is much better than last week. Monday begins a whole new chance to do better, so I’m looking forward to that.
  4. Read every day. Done. This goal is the easiest one to complete. I finished Eon, which was a pretty good book. If you like Chinese/Japanese culture, political books, or dragons, then I suggest this one for you. I’m excited for the sequel because I think things are really going to take off. I’m now reading Tiger’s Voyage, which is the third book in the Tiger’s Curse series by Colleen Houck. These books have their faults, but they’re pretty good anyway. I’m definitely enjoying this one so far. I also want to get back into reading the novels that I promised other people I’d critique for them. I also realized that I am ten times happier when I’m reading a novel than when I’m not. It’s amazing to me that it has such an effect on my mood, but I’m not complaining. It at least gives me an excuse to sit down and read each day.
  5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates. Done! This is still one of my favorite things to do, and there’s no way I would miss out on it. We had a pretty fun week last week, and I’ve got some more great stuff planned for this coming week. Also, be sure to pop back in on Monday, as I have a nice little surprise for many of you!

And here’s my question: I have a short story collection that it almost complete. Beta readers have all come back with high praise for it. I’d like to publish it and see how it does, but I’m worried about how that will affect my “image” and possible reading audience. The short stories are horror (and they’re *quite* disturbing), which is not by any means what I usually write. Okay, so that wasn’t actually a question. Here’s the real question:

Do I publish these before or after I publish my first novel (which is my usual writing style and genre)?

If I publish them before, do you think it will draw in certain people that wouldn’t appreciate or like my usual style once I publish my novels? Or won’t it matter? If I decide to publish them after, I may be sitting on them for a while. Is it better to just get “stuff” out there, or do I need to be aware of what I put out there and how it will affect my image?

(I realize that was a lot more than just one question, but I had trouble getting out exactly what I wanted to say. I can clarify anything in the comments if you’re still unsure about what I’m asking. Any thoughts would really, really be appreciated. Also, I’m going to stop rambling now…)

Comments
  1. Ryan King says:

    I wouldn’t worry about your image just yet. Write what you love.. send it out. Your “image” will come. If that means you write romance with a side of horror, then that’s you. That just sets you apart from everyone else and it adds to your identity. Don’t limit yourself.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Ryan! I’m definitely all for not limiting myself, but I also want to do this the smart way. I’m still working on thinking about writing as a business, rather than just a hobby. It’ll all come in time, and your comment definitely helps!

  2. Fantastic week Karen!! GREAT word count and exercising twice is fabulous! Like you said, better than nothing and great momentum for the week ahead. Not to mention the blog amazingness you are putting out there…woot woot! Luv it!

  3. Great progress! It’s hard to write when the muses don’t want to cooperate, but I’m glad to hear you pushed through. Sometimes once you get past that initial barrier of not wanting to write, the words can really flow.

    As for publishing your short stories, if you’re truly worried about them affecting your image with your other writing, you might consider publishing them under a pseudonym. I know there are multiple schools of thought on this, but I am submitting romance stuff under a different name than I am working on fantasy/paranormal. I kinda want to keep them separate. So, that’s a possibility!

    Good luck on your goals this week. 🙂

    • Karen Rought says:

      Hello, Jessica! Thanks for stopping in. Someone else mentioned about writing under a pseudonym, and I quite like that idea. I may just consider that (is it weird I already have one picked out?). I think I’ll make a point of looking around and putting together a list of pros and cons for this.

  4. Julie Glover says:

    Great word count! As for the horror/other genre question, I don’t usually enjoy horror. But I wouldn’t let the fact that someone had written horror prevent me from reading their other stuff. The authors who write in vastly different genres (e.g., young adult and erotic) do sometimes choose a pen name, although their identity is usually easy to find these days. They end up being Jane Doe writing as ___. Best wishes with your work and have a marvelous ROW80!

  5. […] you missed my question from last week, please check it out. I’d still like to know your opinion if you haven’t given me one […]

Tell me what you think!

