ROW80 – R1C6

Posted: February 5, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Hey, guys! Hope you’re all doing well in ROWland. Last week’s awesomeness seems to have caught up to me, and I’ve been very, very tired during the second half of this week. Here’s the rundown:

  1. Research for at least half an hour each day. Incomplete. I ended up finishing The Writer’s Market: Guide to Getting Published. It was a good book, but it didn’t have the concrete answers I was looking for. I’m not sure any book will, though. I skimmed through some other books that I borrowed from my boss, but they weren’t exactly what I needed, so I returned them. Now I’m reading Bob Mayer’s 102 Solutions to Common Writing Mistakes. So far, so good. I feel like I know more than I did a couple of months ago, but not nearly as much as I want to. I don’t think I’m ready to start pitching to agents, yet. I’m still waiting on two of my beta readers. I guess I’ll see what they say and go from there. I need to catch up with this goal, which I’ll hopefully have time for today.
  2. Do a one hour writing sprint at least three times a week, working on the WIP. Done! This one I am SO proud of. I’ve actually finished my first rough draft of the second novel that I’m working on. This one is completely unrelated to the first one, and it came to me about part way through November. I started writing it on a whim, just to get the story out of my head. And guess what? It turned into a 60,000+ word novel. It needs a lot of revision, but for now I’m just happy it is done. Next on my list? Finish up the outline for the second novel in my first series, then start writing it. I usually get burnt out when I’ve been writing so much, but I’m finding that I get really excited on the days I’m supposed to be sprinting. I think the scheduling and practice has really improved my motivation and ability to focus. My third writing sprint this week was dedicated to blog posts, since I finished my WIP, so the numbers are a little smaller this time around. I wrote 4,294 words, for a total of 25,024 since the beginning of January.
  3. Exercise for half an hour each day. Incomplete. I missed out last night because I was busy and tired from a day of (fruitless) shopping. I’ll make it up today, though. Trying to eat better is going well. I just have to remind myself that I won’t be dropping weight like I did the first time. I’ve definitely hit a plateau, but if I can just stick with it every day I know that by the time summer rolls around I’ll feel much better about myself.
  4. Do at least one chapter of reading each night. Incomplete. This is another one I’ll be making up tonight. I’ve got A LOT to read right now, but I’m really excited for all of them. One is a book for someone who approached me about a review, and the other is a beta read for someone else’s novel. I’m going to try to get through both of them this week, and hopefully start on a “regular” novel soon. I’ve got so many it is ridiculous, yet I’ve still got my eyes on more? *shakes head*
  5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates. Done! This one is going very well. I’ve been staying on a schedule, which really helps. I’ve also been getting a flood of ideas for posts, so it helps that I’ve already written a few of them up.

This is what my calendar looked like at the end of January. Each letter represents a different goal, and I would put the letter on the day that I completed that goal. This was an awesome way to keep track of what I had accomplished for the day, but also to see how I was doing overall.

So, there you have it. Not a perfect week, but a week of many accomplishments. That urge to write is calling my name, so I think that’s what I’ll be doing next. Then, I have a lot of “work” to do to catch up with everything I’ve been lazy with this past week. Better late than never, right?

A quick question for you fellow ROWers out there: when you’ve finished a manuscript, do you set it aside before you start editing it, or do you get right into the process of fixing it? With my last one, I set it aside, but realized that I had trouble remembering everything that happened in it. It was difficult keeping the facts straight, which hindered my editing process a little bit. Not only am I not looking forward to jumping right into this second one and editing it, but I’d really, really like to start writing the second novel in my other series, since that’s my primary focus right now. What do you guys think? Do you edit right after you’ve written something, or do you set it aside so you have a fresh outlook on it?

Thanks!

Comments
  1. Belle of Mountains says:

    I’d set it aside for a little while – not years and years so it can collect dust, but maybe a few days, so you can look at it from new angles.

    • Karen Rought says:

      My last novel took me quite a while to finish, so by the time I was ready to edit it, I was feeling a little lost. I’d really like to write up the next one, then go back and edit this one, but that means I’ll be setting it aside for more than just a few days. A few months, maybe. It would be nice, though, to be able to give myself a break between projects like that. Thanks for commenting, Belle. 🙂

  2. alberta says:

    because of various problems I have with writing I have to go through fairly quickly on the mechanics ,spelling, puctuation – otherwise I can’t figure out what I have written – then I may leave for few weeks – because I’m sick of it:) then I get stuck into editing proper(or 2nd draft type thingy) because the few weeks has allowed my mind to sort out what needs doing – then I send it to my friend from forever//editor for her input – shes soo good at consitencies! any help? – well done on week of getting lots done and all best for coming week

    • Karen Rought says:

      Yes, that does help. Thank you! I always need help with consistency, too, but I find that I can’t look at it again too soon after I’ve written it, or I just don’t notice those types of things.

  3. Do you have Scrivener? If so, put it in there, scene by imperfect scene – notes/fact list linked to each one. Then leave it for a month. Or longer. Enough time to focus on the other one. When you go back you’ll have a manuscript ready for edit, for additions and all of your original ‘lists’ or ‘ideas’ will be linked. Its brilliant.

    If not, just do the same with pen and paper. Right down in short hand/notes/lists stuff you’ll want to remember and put it to one side.

    Good luck, and good going. That word-count was fabulous 🙂

  4. Hi Karen, always good to see you! I too got a copy of Bob Mayer’s book. I’m also taking his online class on business. It rocks.

    And you Rocked it in the blogging department! That’s very cool!

    I’m so glad I got the chance to drop in and see you. You’re doing great and it’s the start of a fresh new week

    Happy reading! 🙂

    • Karen Rought says:

      Hi, Karen! Always nice to see you drop in! I’m hoping to take one or more of his classes or Kristen’s soon. They seem like excellent workshops. Happy reading to you, too!

  5. Right here’s the key: “Not a perfect week, but a week of many accomplishments.” Spot on!

    I am a revision queen! I absolutely set the work aside for two weeks, minimum, before digging back into it. A month (or more) is better. You need that distance to be able to look at it objectively, as a reader would. If there are things you aren’t clear on or you need to remember in order to understand the story, that could indicate a problem in and of itself. The main thing you need to remember during revision is, what was your vision for the novel in the first place, and what made you want to write it. Setting it aside for longer is not a bad thing, either. I just finished a revision that has sat around for 3-4 YEARS. It’s the sequel to a book I wasn’t able to sell, so what was the point? But now that I’ve published the other one, I had to finish the sequel and I’m very happy with it. Good luck with yours!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Jennette, you have no idea how good that makes me feel. I think I’m going to set it aside, just because I really want to work on this other one. I’ve found that you’re right about the objectivity part – that is something that helped me out tremendously with my first novel. Whenever I was confused about what I had written, I knew that the reader would be, too. But I only notice those things after I take a break from the MS. Thanks for the advice and comment!

  6. Jenny Hansen says:

    Oh my God, Karen! Over 25K?! I hope you are SO very proud of yourself!! Great job this week. 🙂

  7. With how long it takes me to write a manuscript, I can jump in it straight away and discover things I was going to do and then forgot. If I go away, I forget everything which is worse. I don’t edit piece by piece as I write because it breaks my momentum. I’m now writing all three books in my manuscript as one to keep the flow going.

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s definitely a downfall to waiting to edit – you forget some important details. I’m definitely no stranger to that! I agree about not editing as I write, I can’t do that either. I’ve thought about writing my three books as one giant book and then breaking them apart, but I think I’d need a break in between. Not so sure my brain could handle that much, lol. Thanks for stopping in, and thanks for the advice!

  8. Natasha says:

    Wow!! Blogging 3x a week.. Awesome!! I need to use your example. I’m about 2 blog posts behind.

    Keep it up!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Natasha! It was something that I struggled with in the beginning, but once I finally decided to get on a schedule it was a lot easier to stick with it. Now I feel REALLY guilty if I don’t. Good luck with your posts!

Tell me what you think!

