Behind the Times, Like Usual

Posted: January 23, 2012 in TV Shows
Tags: , , , ,

Look closely. See that in the top left hand corner? That's the place my head likes to visit on occasion.

You know those types of people who have their heads stuck in the clouds? The kind that are just completely oblivious to the world around them? They don’t do it on purpose, and it doesn’t mean that they don’t care, they’re just thinking about a million other things at the same time. They always hop on the bandwagon after it has already started moving. Like cowboys in Westerns that chase the train on a horse and make it onto the platform right before the train enters the tunnel.

That’s me.

Usually I don’t mind. My friends think its endearing. I can be so blonde sometimes. I’m quirky and comical and I pick on myself about it, which pretty much makes up for anything I didn’t do or understand the first time around.

But this? This is ridiculous.

I recently decided to start watching the show Psych. You may have seen my tweet that said I thought it had one of the best pilots I’ve ever seen. I’m going to expand on that and say that this is one of the best shows I’ve ever seen.

I like TV. A lot. I have my old standbys – Charmed, Buffy, Angel. Some newer ones – Dirty Jobs, Ghost Hunters, Mythbusters, and Glee. And my newest ones – Once Upon a Time, Terra Nova, Teen Wolf, and Grimm. They’re not all homeruns, but I like them for different reasons and I already feel invested in them. I’ll stick with them until I feel that they’re a lost cause.

So, how in the world did I miss Psych? I mean, really? This show came out in 2006. That’s SIX YEARS AGO. I knew I wasn’t always the first one at the finish line, but this is just embarrassing.

For you Psychophants out there (with an awesome name like that, how can you NOT be a part of this fandom?), I apologize for coming to my senses so late in the game. For those of you who have yet to check this show out, please do yourself a favor and find at least one episode to watch. There are 79 of them on Netflix right now. I think you’ll be able to pick out one you’ll enjoy.

So, why do I like this show so much? One of the main reasons is that this show makes me laugh a lot. Like, the way Glee used to make me laugh in season one. Loud and obnoxious laughter where you have to bury your face in a pillow to avoid complete and total embarrassment in front of family members. A lot of the jokes are witty and intelligent and it’s that moment between delivery and understanding – that quick two seconds where you’re still thinking about what they just said – that the hilarity actually occurs. The humor on this show is so fresh to death.

This show is also fairly unique. There’s definitely a hint of Monk hidden in there, but just a dash. The only similarity Shawn and Adrain have is a sense of noticing things and putting together connections that ordinary people can’t. Where Adrian is obsessive-compulsive, Shawn has an eidetic memory and has been trained to pick up all manner of details. This is a detective show on laughing gas, and has put an entirely new spin on the genre.

I could go on and on about how great this show is, but you honestly have to just check it out yourself. Besides, I promised myself that once I wrote up this post I would go watch one or two (or three, or four, or…) more episodes. I’m starting to have withdrawal.

Let me know what you think of the show in the comments – the good, the bad, and the hilarious. I’m only in the middle of season two, so NO SPOILERS. Is anyone who hasn’t seen it already going to put it on their “to-be-watched” list?

Comments
  1. Debra Kristi says:

    I’ve heard good things about the show but haven’t actually watched it. I watch so many already and never give any of them my undivided attention. I know, it’s bad. But there is only so much time in the day and I have so much to do. My girlfriend recently discovered it too and was raving about it on FB. 🙂

    • Let me just give you fair warning: it is addicting. I have to watch at least an episode a night. Luckily my writing/blogging isn’t suffering, but I can already see it quickly taking over my life if I don’t stay in control. It’s THAT good. Thanks for stopping in. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

