Movie Review: Tangled

Posted: January 20, 2012 in Movies
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

Hey, look! It's Maximus!

Bottom Line:

Watch It.

Details:

[Minor Spoilers. Proceed with caution.]

Disney has done it again! Another movie full of cute animation, great characters, and humor for all ages. I just recently signed up for Netflix’s streaming video free trial (which means more movie reviews!). I’m not sure how I feel about it just yet, or if it will be any different once I get the full version. (Actually, does anyone know? Do you get more titles with the full version?) But, until then, I’ll be watching what I can.

So, why is Tangled such a great story? Well, I really enjoyed their twist on the tale. It isn’t what I was expecting, but it worked so well. Another great reason is the humor – this movie if funny. There are even some jokes in there that teens and adults would get more than the kids. That’s something Disney and Pixar have always been great about – not forgetting that parents are sitting there watching the movies, too. I think kids will really be able to relate to this movie and get a good kick out of it. The singing was amazing, especially with Mandy Moore in the lead. And some of the characters were just downright adorable. I can’t decide who I love more – Maximus (the horse) or Pascal (the chameleon).

I also have to point out one very important thing: this movie does not fall into the traps that so many other Disney/princess movies do. And it was such a breath of fresh air. The main thing that I’m thinking about here is that Rapunzel and Flynn Rider did not fall in love the second their eyes met. And even when Rapunzel admitted there might be something between them, she used the word “like.” Thank goodness! Lately, I’ve been getting so tired of all of the desperate admission of love going around. I’m sorry, but in the real world it usually doesn’t work that way. Even at the end of the movie, Flynn tells us that it takes many years for Rapunzel to finally say yes to marrying him. Smart girl!

I found very few downsides to the movie, but one thing I did notice was the pacing. The beginning was a bit slow and I thought the movie was going to turn out a little hokey, but it really started to pick up about halfway through. And once it did find its groove, it was moving and shaking like there was no tomorrow. If you’re a Disney buff, if you like animation, if you like singing and humor, or all of the above, I highly recommend this movie.

Comments
  1. anneris31 says:

    This movie sets such a great example for other Disney movies. It creates realistic situations (a sheltered young girl repressed by her “parent”) adds the typical Disney magic, and develops the characters realistically. Like you said, they didn’t fall in love at first sight. I too love how instead of saying “love” she was more sensible and used the word “like”. They actually developed a relationship. Up until this point, Disney has been able to create good characters but mediocre relationships. I’m glad to see they’re finally starting to do both.

    • Totally agree! I think you’re right in pointing out that this is one of the few movies they’ve made that is realistic. This is especially true when you think about why Rapunzel was kept in the tower, and how she was led to believe this was the best choice for her. This movie definitely translates well to all audiences. Thanks for stopping in!

  2. ddog13 says:

    I must admit, this is one of the funnier Disney movies out there. The humor is pretty hilarious, and there’s plenty of action. There was no cliche at all. Great movie

Tell me what you think!

