ROW80 – R1C3

Posted: January 15, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m not sure whether I should call this past week a success or a failure, so I think I’m going to say it’s a little bit of both. I did meet all of my goals, but not always on time. Consistency is a big problem for me, so this definitely isn’t something to push off and just say I’ll do better next time. With that being said…I’m going to do better next time.

Here’s the rundown:

  1. Edit two chapters of my completed novel every day. Guess what? Editing is finished! Like I said last week, I came into a couple of opportunities to have some different people look at it, so I wanted to get it done as quickly as possible. I feel a little bit lost now that I’m not working on it, but I am SO excited that it is finally done. It takes me just one step closer to that final goal: publication! I’m going to replace this goal with a new one: Read one of my writing books for at least half an hour each day. I’ve got Writer’s Marketplace and some other guide books, so I’m going to use this time to “research” what would make a good next step for me.
  2. Do a one hour writing sprint at least three times a week, working on the WIP. Done…sort of. I stretched the first hour out between two days, and did the last two hours in a single day. I reached my goal, but that whole “consistency” thing didn’t really work out. Last week I managed about 5,100 words. This week I got 6,449! This WIP is coming along great, and I’m just about to start in on the final conflict.
  3. Exercise for half an hour every day. Done! This one I actually feel good about even though I “cheated” a little bit on the consistency thing. I actually planned ahead instead of procrastinated! I knew I was going to be busy on Wednesday, so I made sure that I exercised for an hour on Tuesday. I haven’t lost anything additional yet – which is totally fine – and I haven’t gained anything. I’m sure I would do a lot better with this if I didn’t have leftover Christmas candy to eat. I also decided to make chocolate covered pretzels this week. Oops.
  4. Do at least one chapter of reading each night. Done! I finished the book I was working on and I’m onto a new one now. I’ll be writing a review about this one, so make sure you stick around for that! The one I finished is tied up in a project I’m working on, so I’ll be talking more about that soon, too.
  5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates. Done! I definitely squeezed these in at the last minute, but I did it!

So, this past week was rough. I was staying up very late to edit as much as I could, and it definitely took a toll on me. I’m hoping to work on that for this next week. I’m going to try to stick to a schedule for the blogging and writing especially, and make sure that I still get enough sleep in.

Wish me luck!

Comments
  1. Writing Jobs says:

    Great post thanks! Stop by sometime

  2. Hey… you are doing it… love how you are being flexible (and yet, maintain form!) for your writing goals. I am in awe of your editing feat (my biggest weakness!)

    Keep up the energy… I know you can!

    Great to read your ROW80 update today!

Tell me what you think!

