Movie Review: Cowboys & Aliens

Posted: January 11, 2012 in Movies
Tags: , , , , , ,

Bottom Line:

Don’t Watch.

Details:

I didn’t hate this movie. I didn’t even really dislike this movie. Actually, it had a lot of good things going for it. I love Daniel Craig, especially for his work in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I also love Harrison Ford – the Indiana Jones movies are classic action flicks that I love to watch. It was directed by Jon Favreau, the guy who did Iron Man – which was an instant hit with me.

And the very concept of the movie is incredibly intriguing. Cowboys and aliens. Let me say that again. Cowboys. And. Aliens. This film had great potential to really knock us off our feet and give us a unique spin on two classic genres by spinning them together.

I think that was the problem. This film was just mediocre. I felt like most of the stand-alone cowboy scenes were cliché. You know how when the bad guy walks into the bar and the music cuts off mid note with that brittle ping of the violin strings? Yeah, that actually happened. They actually did that. The dialogue was okay, but it seemed forced. The action wasn’t bad, but there was a lot of gun slinging and I’m more of a swords-and-knives girl myself. The entire thing was a little hokey with the dialogue and the relationships between the characters. A little too over-the-top.

The funny thing was, the concept of the movie wasn’t the problem. It was a brilliant idea, but the writing just fell flat. I will say that there were a couple of twists that surprised me. There are some funny jokes, the aliens are actually pretty scary, and there are some characters that you just instantly fall in love with.

I got this as a Christmas present, so I feel a little bad for not liking it. But my Mom (who gave it to me) didn’t like it either, so I don’t have to feel too guilty. We’re going to set it aside for a month or two and watch it again later on, now that we know what to expect. There’s been a few movies where I’ve actually decided that I liked them after doing this. I’ll let you guys know if I change my mind.

Have any of you seen this yet? What did you think of it? Did my review sway you in anyway? Do you agree with what I’ve said?

P.S. For anyone who has seen this movie – please tell me I wasn’t the only one who thought they were going to put up a “Perfection” sign on the edge of town at the end of the movie. That would’ve been ASTOUNDING.

Comments
  1. ddog13 says:

    I didn’t expect a Perfection sign, but I expected to hear Poison’s “Every Rose has its Thorn” as Daniel Craig rode away into the sunset before the credits.

  2. […] start with the really obvious one, the movie Cowboys & Aliens (I did a review of it in January). I didn’t particularly like this film, but I didn’t hate it either. It had an interesting […]

  3. […] start with the really obvious one, the movie Cowboys & Aliens (I did a review of it in January). I didn’t particularly like this film, but I didn’t hate it either. It had an interesting […]

Tell me what you think!

