ROW80 – R1C2

Posted: January 8, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m so excited for this check-in, you guys! I’ve been really kicking myself hard to make sure I meet my goals each and every day. Here’s the run down on what they are and how I’ve been doing:

  1. Edit two chapters of my completed novel every day. Done! I also recently came into an opportunity to have someone with a lot more experience than me read it over and give me a full critique. I’ll let you guys know how that turns out. Needless to say, I need to get MY editing done before I have a chance to send her the “finished” copy. I’m trying to get more than two chapters a day in now, but two is the minimum. Hopefully I can finish this up quickly, so I don’t leave her hanging for too long.
  2. Do a one hour writing sprint at least three times a week, working on the WIP. Done! I achieved 1,800 words with my first writing sprint, and my second one brought me over 2,000! My third one was at about 1,300, but I went on to write for another forty minutes after that. I’m definitely pushing through the mini writer’s blocks that I keep hitting, which is always a nice feeling.
  3. Exercise for half an hour every day. Done! I had a near miss on Friday, but I forced myself into action, even though it was 10:00 at night. Very glad that I’ve been really sticking to this one. I’ve already lost three pounds! That sounds like a lot for the first week, but I always drop more than usual right at the beginning when I first start getting back into it. It’ll even out soon enough and I’m sure I’ll be dropping about a pound a week, if my previous weight-loss is anything to go by.
  4. Do at least one chapter of reading each night. Done! I usually read more than this, because I always having trouble putting book down, but I don’t want to increase the goal on this one. Writing and exercising are definitely my main focuses, so I don’t want to put too much strain on myself by trying to read more than that. On a side note, the book I’m currently reading is part of a project I’m working on with someone else, but I’ll tell you more about that later!
  5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates. Done! I had those blogs written up in advance, so it wasn’t that difficult to look over them again and then post them. I need to make sure I stay on top of my ideas and get them written up, so I don’t have to do any at the last minute. It’s a shame that I’m not counting these as part of my writing sprints, but I really want the focus to be on my WIP at the moment.

So, things are going great in general. I’m hitting all of my goals and that is definitely something that I’m proud of. I’m a notorious procrastinator, so the fact that I didn’t have to “make up” time during this past week (ie. doing an hour of exercising one day because I missed the previous one) is really fantastic. Go me!

There are some things I’m struggling with, though. One of them is making sure that I’m getting enough sleep. I’m very happy that I’m not giving myself any room to budge – “oh, I’ll just do it tomorrow” is NOT in the game plan – but it has been difficult on some days when I have to stay up so late to fit everything in and then have to go into work the next morning. And I don’t even drink coffee! Maybe I’ll just have to learn to inject it intravenously to avoid the taste.

The other thing that has been tough is trying to fit other things into the schedule. There really isn’t much room for spontaneity. If I want to hang out with friends or my boyfriend, or even watch a movie, everything gets pushed back and I’m struggling to fit it all into one night. I think this will be a lesson learned for the next ROW80 challenge. I don’t want to change my schedule right now because I’m getting A LOT of work done, but I’m definitely pushing myself to my limits. Once I get through my editing goal, I’m going to replace it with another one that shouldn’t take up so much time.

I’m off to see how the rest of you are doing now. Keep ROWing!

Comments
  1. Debra Kristi says:

    Hi Kay! Really like the goals you have set. You are doing great! Woot woot! It makes me wonder if I should set a goal to edit my first book in addition to writing forward on my third. Hmm. Time is so tight already. All you Row vets inspire me so!

    • HA! I’m no ROW vet, trust me. This is my first round! I just tend to set the bar really high for myself – which tends to make me go a little crazy sometimes. I like staying busy, though. If you’re tight on time, I wouldn’t add another goal to your list (though, of course, that’s always up to you in the end). You can always choose to add that in on your next round, instead. (Thanks for stopping by!)

  2. Natasha says:

    Oh Wholly Molly! Your goals sound like mind… outside of the editing. Exercise and all! LOL!! Although that’s not on my ROW80 public goal list. I’ve kept it simple for my first time participating. I just have a word count. I needed this to keep me writing throughout the week. However, if you look at my ‘calendar’ I incorporated reading, exercise, and new wake up times etc…
    You seem to be rock’ in it!!

    • I keep a calendar, too! Every time I do one of my goals, I mark it down so I can remember to check that one off for the day. Calendars are a great way to stay motivated. Good luck and thanks for stopping in!

  3. Hunter says:

    Wow, wow, wow, goals done. Congratulations to stickng to them so far. I know what you mean about setting so many targets and lacking the time for anything spontaneous – been there, suffered that too. I took all the reading and research stuff off my goals – having less of them makes them more achievable, then I simply do the reading etc as spontaneous rewards. Plus, oh – must walk the dog.

    • That’s actually a really good idea. Perhaps I’ll keep that in mind for the next ROW80 challenge. I’m honestly going to read whether or not it’s on my list, and I’m definitely making writing and editing my priority. Maybe next time I’ll focus on those and fit in the reading whenever I can. Thanks for commenting!

  4. It sounds like you’re doing great meeting your goals.

    Yes, sleep is important, and so is spontaneity. Its good to build in that free time and let inspirations strike.

    Keep on Rockin’ this ROW.

Tell me what you think!

