ROW80 – Round 1, Check-in 1

Posted: January 1, 2012 in ROW80, Writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, thanks to a fellow blogger (Jenny Hansen) I was recently introduced to the concept of ROW80. This is a little community of writers who get together four times a year (via blog posts and Twitter) to accomplish their goals. The tagline is, “The writing challenge that knows you have a life.” Wait, what? …Really?

Yes!!

ROW80 is a really cool concept. Basically, all you have to do is come up with some goals – writing goals are obviously the main concern, but you can include ANY other ones you want – and write a blog post about them. You can check in one or two times a week and everyone goes around visiting and giving encouragement. (By the way, you can join pretty much anytime you want. It’s never too late. I hope that if you’re not already signed up, you get a chance to do it soon!)

Now, I’ve already told you guys about my 2012 resolutions that I am DEFINITELY going to accomplish this year. However, these are all end-goals. I need to come up with some smaller and more manageable goals to try to achieve every day. These will be my ROW80 goals.

1. Edit two chapters of my completed novel every day. (I want this done by the end of January.)

2. Do a one hour writing sprint at least three times a week, working on the WIP.

3. Exercise for half an hour every day.

4. Do at least one chapter of reading each night.

5. Blog at least three times a week, not including my ROW80 updates.

There you have it! I’ve seen some gigantic lists out there, and mine feels pretty short, but I think I’m more than capable of handling this load without getting overwhelmed. My overall goal for this ROW80 round (and this year in general) is to work consistently on several projects, with these five being my main focus.

I’ll be checking in each Sunday to give you all an update on my progress. I’m still feeling a little confused and new at this whole ROW80 thing, but I’m sure I’ll catch on soon enough. Can’t wait to see what everyone else is doing! Best of luck to you all.

Comments
  1. Hi Karen! I’m trying ROW 80 for the first time this round, as well. And many of my goals are similar to yours–a little writing, a little exercising, a little blogging. Hopefully that leads to a lot of work accomplished in January, and beyond!

    Good luck with the goals! It’ll be fun writing this round with you!

    • Hi, Heather! Thanks for stopping in – I’m SO glad to hear that. I need some ROW buddies, because I’m already feeling lost! We’ll have to keep up with each other to make sure we’re doing what we should. Hope to see you around! 🙂

  2. This is my first round, too! I think you have set some great, manageable goals! And I love wordsprints! Sometimes they are the only thing that get me through writing days when I just can’t help but overthink everything.

    • Hi, Stephanie! So glad I’ve found another newbie! I LOVE writing sprints. Locking myself in my computer room and plugging through scenes without any interruption is the best way for me to get my work done. Everyone knows to leave me alone and I don’t let myself get distracted. It’s amazing how much you can get done when you really set your mind to it. (And I have the problem of overthinking too!)

      Here’s to hoping our first ROW80 is a good one!

  3. Fabio Bueno says:

    I’m a ROW80 rookie too! I liked your goals. Writings sprints are great for when I’m at the library. For some reason, at home I can only do writing hiccups…
    Good ROW80 to you!

  4. Great list and goals. It doesn’t seem short to me at all. I love word sprints, do you do them on Twitter or just time yourself? There were some great ones going on during NaNo, so I need to find some new ones to get my butt in gear.

    Welcome to ROW80. You’ll love it!

    • Thank you! I time myself. I didn’t know there were groups on Twitter that you could do that with! Sounds fun. I’m on Twitter all the time during the evening, so that sounds like something I could try out. Good luck during this round!

Tell me what you think!

