Merry Christmas vs. Happy Holidays

Posted: December 24, 2011 in General
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

This is our Christmas tree this year! (Yes, those are my baby pictures.)

This is a hot topic, especially this time of year: Do you say “Merry Christmas” or do you say “Happy Holidays”?

There is a huge crowd out there that refuses to say “Happy Holidays.” They are the Merry-Christmas-whether-you-celebrate-it-or-not lot. They’re the I-don’t-care-who-you-are-or-where-you-come-from-you’re-in-America-and-you-are-expected-to-conform-to-our-beliefs-damnit crowd. This is supposed to be patriotic and Christian.

I think it’s rude.

I’m Christian and I celebrate Christmas. I have no trouble wishing someone a Merry Christmas if that’s what they celebrate, but I’m not about to assume something about someone I don’t know. America is a medley of different cultures and beliefs – and it has been that way for a long time. There’s nothing patriotic or Christian about the assumption that someone is exactly like you, especially in this country. Actually, it’s quite ignorant, if you ask me. It just lends itself to the idea that Americans are closed minded and lack cultural awareness.

Okay, rant over.

I just think it is more polite to wish someone Happy Holidays than Merry Christmas – and that way you get the New Year in there with it! Besides, Christmastime is when we’re supposed to go out of our way to make others happy, not get into an argument over belief systems. So, on that note…

Happy Holidays to all! And if you do celebrate it – have a very Merry Christmas today/tomorrow! (I know I will!)

Comments
  1. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    “There’s nothing patriotic or Christian about the assumption that someone is exactly like you, especially in this country.” – This is a really poignant statement. With all the republican presidential debates we’ve been hearing a lot about how the country’s morals should be Christian because that’s what this country was founded on. It just makes no sense nowadays! We are truly a melting pot. Anyway, didn’t mean to get so serious but that sentence really struck me. Have a wonderful Christmas weekend 🙂

    • I didn’t really mean to get all serious and rant today either, but it’s something that’s really been bothering me recently, and I felt that I had to get it off my chest. I’m glad that you understand and agree with me! Thanks for stopping in again and have a wonderful Christmas weekend too!!

Tell me what you think!

