Featured Video: “Look at Me Now” and Pancakes

Posted: December 3, 2011 in Featured Video, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m sure if you know what YouTube is, you know of its destructive power toward that little thing we like to call productivity. I can’t tell you how many times in college I’ve tried to sit down and write a paper, only to find myself on YouTube for hours looking at cute kittens or funny videos of people acting stupid. And since I’ve left college? Not much has changed. I’m here to tell you that you’re not alone.

I’m also here to tell you that there is no sense in resisting. YouTube is too strong, and we are only weak mortals.

Anyway, this is a new series I’m calling “Featured Video” where I’ll be posting an interesting or funny video that I happened to come across while procrastinating. It differs from the “Rising Stars” series in that I won’t be talking about an artist and why I think they’re amazing, but just posting a single video, a quick blurb, and awaiting your take on it.

Now, most of the people reading my blog – whether you follow or just happened to stumble across it – can probably get a pretty good sense of the type of person I am. I like to read and write. I love movies. I love being a geek. But you might not know this:

I love rap.

I don’t know why. It seems to go against everything that I appear to be: small town, simple, quiet, moral, meek, and nerdy. I don’t like violence. I don’t like swearing. I’m pretty straight-laced, as far as most people go. But rap is my favorite kind of music.

Now, before you judge me, just hold on to your exclamations of surprise and your opinions about hip hop. I’ve got some pretty good defenses, but you have to give me time to get my thoughts in order before I can share them. In the mean time, check out the video below. It is set to Chris Brown’s “Look at Me Now” and the guy (MacLethal) cooks breakfast while he spits his own rap to the beat. It’s hilarious. (CAUTION: Yes, he swears. He says some things that aren’t really all that funny, but the guy is obviously talented at rapping AND making pancakes. I know people who can’t do one or the other, let alone both at the same time.)

(If you want to check out the lyrics, go to the video on YouTube. He’s got them in the description.)

Tell me what you think!

