I Need More Friends…

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m not a materialistic person. I don’t covet objects or people. I’ve never had tons of friends, but I’ve always had great ones. I put friends and family before a lot of things in my life, and I’ve never felt like I was missing out on anything.

But starting out on this tough road that will (hopefully) one day lead to publication has made me realize something: I need more friends. Specifically, writing friends.

I love all my friends very much, but I’m sure you fellow writers out there can sympathize with my situation. Those friends that are so used to your crazy rants, your strange opinions, and your messy writing are simply too nice. They’re great for an ego boost – believe me, I’ve used them for that – but not so great for really getting into the issue of what’s wrong with your writing.

I do have some writing friends – some I’ve known for a while and others I’ve met more recently. They fall all across the spectrum , from casual writers to serious writers, but I’ve only got a handful of them. I’ve quickly run out of blank slates and fresh ideas. Then what? I’ve come to the conclusion that I just need to know more people like me.

This is an open invitation. If you need someone to bounce ideas off of or someone to critique and edit or just someone to listen, I’m here. I don’t have a degree, and I’m sure there are plenty of people out there who have more experience than I do, but I’m passionate. I love this stuff. I love reading and editing and helping. I also love feedback – whether it’s on my editing skills or my own material.

If you need someone new to share your writing with, please find me on Twitter (@Kay_Rou) or leave a message in the comments section. I’m always willing to help, and I always appreciate a new friend.

Comments
  1. I think we can all use more friends. Nice to “meet” you.

Tell me what you think!

