#ROW80 – Round 1 for 2013 – Stating my intent

Posted: January 6, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , ,

ROW80LogocopyLast year was the first year I did ROW80, and I was lucky enough to pick it up right in January and get to do all four rounds. It was definitely an eye-opening experience, and I learned a lot about what works for me and how far I can push myself.

This year I’m taking everything I learned into consideration and using it to help fuel my goals for 2013.

This past week I’ve been experimenting with some goals that I want to accomplish and trying to focus on what is really important to me as a writer. I got away from writing recently, and I need to bring that to the forefront again. That is why I’m here after all.

So, my main goals are going to be to write and read every day, as they were in the last round. Except I’m going to force myself to do both everyday – at least a paragraph. A sentence even, if that’s all I can do. But I know that once I start, it’s hard to stop. So if I can just start, I’ll get over that hump and be able to get a bunch of words down on paper.

I’m also going to start keeping track of my word count each day – no particular goals here, but just to look at how I’m doing overall. It really helped in my first round, and it’d be nice to see if I can keep up a pretty solid word count from round to round.

I’m also going to start exercising more consistently. Nothing crazy like I did a few rounds ago, just twice a week. I want to ease myself back into it. Make it fun again. I’ve already exercised several times this week just for the heck of it, which is a great feeling. It’s nice to exercise because I want to, not because I feel like I have to. I’m also going to start eating better. I need to get rid of the junk food in the house and focus on healthier foods. That’ll help just as much as trying to exercise more often.

I’d also like to work on some major projects this round. I want to finish up edits on L1 and finish writing W1. I’ve got some solid plans for both, and I know what I want to do once I get past both of those stages, so I just need to sit down and do it.

I’m going to keep the structure I had last round, because that helped tremendously. I like the idea of assigning points to everything because it helps me see how I do from week to week. I think I’m going to change up how much everything is worth, but I’ll figure that out when I do my first check in next week.

And, as always, I’m going to keep the List of Awesome. It makes for a good pick-me-up at the end of each check-in, especially when I don’t do so hot on my goals. Plus, it’s a fun way to pass along what I’ve been up to and brag about other people!

Happy ROWing everyone! Let’s make this round an awesome round!

P.S. For this week, I’ve edited once, written four times (for a total of 8,823 words), and exercised three times. Not a bad start!

Comments
  1. 2013! Let’s do this Karen! *Cheers…horribly* :D

  2. I love your points system and your List of Awesome!
    Great goals, my friend! Here’s to a great round ;)

  3. Julie Glover says:

    Awesome start to the round, Karen! Great goals. See you around. (I’m the one shaking pom-poms.)

Tell me what you think!

