What I want to accomplish in 2013

Posted: January 2, 2013 in General
Tags: ,

On Monday I wrote up everything I accomplished in 2012. I was surprised and delighted by how far I’ve come since I started taking this whole writing thing seriously. It’s amazing how much you can get done when you just sit down and do it.

With that said, I have high hopes for 2013.

I don’t want to set super specific goals, because if I’ve learned anything from last year it’s that things happen in their own time. There are definitely things I want to work towards, but life has a funny way of throwing you a curve ball. It changes and alters your goals – in a good way most of the time – and I don’t want to be disappointed if something like that happens again this year and I haven’t accomplished everything I’ve set up for myself.

So, in general, here are things I want to do in 2013:

On me:

I’d like to start exercising more frequently and start shedding some pounds and some inches. I’ve never cared much about my weight as long as I was healthy, but it is frustrating when I can’t fit into clothes I really like. That’s what I really want to start working on. I’d also like to cut junk food out of my life for the most part. I’ve done it before and didn’t miss it too much, so I need to get back into that habit again.

On writing:

I want to publish my horror short story collection this year. Whether I try to do it through something more traditional or through self-publication is up to the Fates, I guess. Whatever works out, I don’t care. I just want it out there.

I also want to finish L1 and start shopping around for that. I need to learn more about the whole process of landing an agent and getting a book deal before actually settling on something. Anyone know of a book titled How to Be a Writer: A Step-By-Step Guide in a Choose Your Own Adventure style? That would be super helpful.

I want to finish another project. I don’t even care which one at this point. I’ve got a pretty solid idea of what I want to do with both Z1 and W1, so either one of those would be nice. Even if it’s just a rough first draft, I want it finished.

On life:

I want to learn not to be so afraid. To learn not to doubt myself so often. Anxiety has taken over my life, but I’ve begun to fight back. I want this year to be the year that I break out of the shackles of this disease and learn that I am a capable human being who can do anything she wants as long as she sets her mind to it.

I also want to be a better bloggy friend and tweep. I met a lot of amazing people last year who were kind enough to follow me while I worked my way through my first year of serious writing. Everyone has been more kind and supportive than I could have ever dreamed up. Now it’s my time to give back. I want to be more interactive on other people’s blogs and on Twitter and build those relationships that I treasure more than they could even possibly know.

Please feel free to mention or link to your own 2013 goals down below. They’re more than welcome! I hope you have a great year, and I hope come 2014 we can look back on this and smile at a job well done.

Comments
  1. Julie Glover says:

    I like how you broke up the goals into these categories. Your approach toward weight/health is much like mine. I have gained some weight this past year, and what hacks me off is not fitting into clothes I like and feeling good about my body. There’s no magic number on the scale for me, but I know when I feel good about myself and that’s a goal of mine for 2013.

    I’m thrilled that your horror collection will be coming out one way or another. See you in 2013!

  2. ddog13 says:

    Those are some big goals, but I’m sure you can accomplish them with time! As with your comment about junk food, there was a time where I was eating a lot of it. Once 2012 hit, however, I just stopped. I didn’t make myself stop, but I just kind of wasn’t interested in chips and the like anymore. I’ve seen people stop junk food, and it makes a huge difference in how you feel and how you spend your time. Good luck to all your goals!

    • Karen Rought says:

      That sort of happened to me too for a while there. It’s hard around the holidays because there’s so much of it and it’s all just SO GOOD. But normally I stay away from it too. I notice that I don’t crave it when it’s not in the house. So my goal is to just stock up on healthy food and start craving that instead!

Tell me what you think!

