ROW80 – R2C6

Posted: May 13, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m going to warn you now: I did pretty much nothing this week. But it wasn’t because I didn’t want to! Life certainly got in the way and there was very little I could do about it. (You’ll notice I didn’t even get a blog post up on Friday…) But, on the upside, I got to spend quality time with friends and family and even attended a wedding. So, I’m just going to report on what I did get done and cut my losses. No use worrying about it now that it’s over!

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. Incomplete. I exercised Monday and Tuesday and then didn’t find any time during the rest of the week. If felt really good to get back on the treadmill, though, so I’m looking forward to this goal for this coming week. Listening to the sound track to Hercules (my favorite Disney movie) makes it a lot of fun, too!
  2. Each Sunday, visit Writer’s Market for at least half an hour. Done. This goal is getting harder to manage, as I feel totally lost right now. What do I need to be doing? How do I go about doing it? What’s a good choice to make? There’s a lot of helpful information out on the internet, but I think that’s part of the problem – there’s too much. What’s good advice for ME? It’s all very overwhelming. There’s got to be a Step-By-Step Guide for Idiots out there, right?
  3. Write every day. Incomplete. This happened only once – on Monday. I will do better this week!
  4. Read every day. Incomplete. I did it on Monday and that was it. I keep pushing this goal to the last minute (before bed) so sometimes I don’t feel like doing it. I think I need to move it up to an earlier time in the day.
  5. Decide what the last story in my horror collection is going to be and start writing it. Done. Actually, I came up with two new ideas and wrote one. I’m still working on the other. Some of the stories I’ve chosen for the collection don’t quite fit in with the style I’m going for. I’m not sure if this is a good thing (it breaks it up a little) or a bad thing (they just don’t belong). My next goal here is: Finish writing “Found” and then decide which stories DEFINITELY make the cut.

Here are some other things that have happened lately:

  1. I saw The Avengers and you should too.
  2. Karmin dropped their debut album and I could not be happier or more proud. Learn about them a bit more from this post (and note that I totally called that they’d be famous one day).
  3. It’s Mother’s Day! Happy Mother’s Day to all those moms out there – I hope it’s a good one for you. My Mom told me what I was doing for her today about a week ago (LOL), so we’re off to initiate her plans shortly.
Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    Hey, life happens ALL the time. And you did great for someone who got so busy!
    Ah, stop talking about The Avengers LOL I so want to see that movie!
    Have great week!

  2. EM Castellan says:

    I agree with Juliana, you still managed to do a lot despite the “life got in the way” problem. Your issue with Writer’s Market is also very understandable: sometimes you have to take a step back from the Internet and just sit at your desk writing. You can go back to WM later. This week on my blog I’m tackling Self-editing, if you’re interested: http://emcastellan.com/2012/05/13/row-check-in-5-the-art-of-self-editing-your-novel/

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! I’ll definitely check out your link. I’m having less of a problem with the writing and self-editing and more of a problem of trying to figure out what the next step is.

  3. As others said, sometimes life just gets in the way.

    As for Writer’s Market: what is it you are trying to accomplish? I don’t know that it’s a fruitful site to just hang out on without a goal. When I’ve used that type of database, my goal each time is to generate a list of markets for a specific story OR to find another “type” of material I might want to write, which has good markets. (However, even in the second case, the goal is to generate a list.)

    And there are other such sites. I usually find WM is tapped out for me after a few weeks.

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s exactly what I’m trying to do – generate lists. I’ve got lists, I guess I just don’t know what to do with them now that I have them! I think it’s one part just not knowing what to do and one part complete and utter fear of the unknown.

  4. alberta says:

    considering life was bustling around you I rekon you did okay there – so easy to give up all together on these kind of weeks and you didn’t so good news:)

    I don’t know this market you refer to but guess its a site full of writerly information but i agree with Camille – one needs to know what one is looking for otherwise a lot of time can be idled away just browsing – which can be good and fun -but not all the time – write – and vist market place when you need it – make a list of what you need and then take list with you: All the best for coming week

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Alberta! Giving up used to be an option when I fell flat on my face like this, but it isn’t anymore. Even when I barely do anything, I’ll find that I’ve at least accomplished something!

  5. Kat Morrisey says:

    Life happens and we all have off weeks (or if you’re me, several!!) I am sure you will be back in your stride this week. As for your comment about Writer’s Market. I’m in the same boat. I get easily overwhelmed with all the info out there and don’t know what to do with it all. It’s one of the reasons I am just focusing on the writing this Round, the rest will fall into place when this WiP is done! :)

    • Karen Rought says:

      I wish I could do the same, Kat! My problem is that my writing is done (or as “done” as it can be for now) and I’m trying to figure out what to do next. If you have an epiphanies, let me know!!

  6. You did great and sometimes it’s good to take a break and recharge. Avengers was on our to-do for this weekend but I’m not sure it’ll happen :sigh: Wishing you all the best for the upcoming week!

  7. Julie Glover says:

    I still find it amazing that you write horror. I guess I foolishly pigeon-holed those writers in the past and expected them to all to look like Edgar Allen Poe and Jack Nicholson peeking through the wood in The Shining combined. Silly me! Catie Rhodes has gotten me to read in the horror genre a little, so I’m finding some good stuff that intrigues me and doesn’t disrupt my sleep patterns. LOL. Best wishes with your horror collection. I’m eager to read your stuff sometime!

    As to this past week, it sounds like you had some productivity at the beginning and then things happened. Oh well! Enjoy Mother’s Day and have a great week!

  8. S. J. Maylee says:

    I so know how you feel with too much information on the internet. I’m still working on my time management skills and believing in one day at a time. It’s a good thing to let life in and break up your routine. Hopefully you’ve got some great new memories leaving your refreshed to face a new week.

  9. Had to comment on the comments! Haven’t seen the Avengers yet. Supposed to do that Sunday, but it didn’t work out. I can’t read most horror, but I grew up reading Poe and was introduced to King at 12. My mother gave me the chapter synopsis after school from what she read the night before. Good luck with your goals. Like Raelyn mentioned. Sometimes you need a break.

Tell me what you think!

